starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intermittent Fasting Question

Default Intermittent Fasting Question

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    From searching and reading previous threads I've gathered that you're not a fan of intermittent fasting except when needed for compliance. It seems the main issue is fewer opportunities for muscle protein synthesis, right?

I've been doing a simple type of IF for almost six months now. Basically I get up at 8:00am and don't eat until 2:00pm-ish, and usually try to finish eating by around 10:00pm, though I'm not very strict with that cutoff. For me it definitely helps with compliance as I'm eating around 2300 calories a day and this way I get to have decent sized meals, plus I'm not hungry in the morning and I have no problem getting to 2:00pm on just coffee.

I'm wondering if just having a couple of scoops of whey with water when I first wake up would be likely to make much of a difference in terms of mps/muscle building/recovery/etc. if I stick to the above eating schedule for everything else. I don't think one watery protein shake would stimulate my appetite the same way eating a small breakfast in the morning would, but lately I've been getting enough protein through actual food so if it's not going to make much difference I'd just as soon not throw away money on whey protein.

Why are you only eating 2300 cal a day? What's your squat? And whey is very satiating, in general.

Quote Originally Posted by Jordan Feigenbaum View Post
    Why are you only eating 2300 cal a day? What's your squat? And whey is very satiating, in general.